Patricia Cornwell Books In Order Printable List

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links. If you click and buy, we may make a commission at no additional charge to you. Please see our affiliate disclosure for more details.

Patricia Cornwell Book Checklist PDF

Below is Patricia Cornwell book list in printable checklist sized 8.5″ x 11″.

What if you want your own customized checklist?

This Link is for those who want an edible Google sheet. To utilize the sheet:

  1. Click on the sheet-> File-> Make a copy
  2. Then it will create a copy for you. Now, the copied sheet is yours.
    You can use the sheet now.

Patricia Cornwell Books In Order Printable List PDF

Patricia Cornwell Books In Order

Kay Scarpetta Series

  1. Postmortem (1989)
  2. Body of Evidence (1991)
  3. All That Remains (1992)
  4. Cruel and Unusual (1993)
  5. The Body Farm (1994)
  6. From Potter’s Field (1995)
  7. Cause of Death (1996)
  8. Unnatural Exposure (1997)
  9. Point of Origin (1998)
  10. Scarpetta’s Winter Table (1998)
  11. Black Notice (1999)
  12. The Last Precinct (2000)
  13. Blow Fly (2003)
  14. Trace (2004)
  15. Predator (2005)
  16. Book of the Dead (2007)
  17. Scarpetta (2008)
  18. The Scarpetta Factor (2009)
  19. Port Mortuary (2010)
  20. Red Mist (2011)
  21. The Bone Bed (2012)
  22. Dust (2013)
  23. Flesh and Blood (2014)
  24. Depraved Heart (2015)
  25. Chaos (2016)
  26. Autopsy (2021)
  27. Livid (2024)
  28. Unnatural Death (2024)

Andy Brazil Series

  1. Hornet’s Nest (1996)
  2. Southern Cross (1999)
  3. Isle of Dogs (2001)

Win Garano Series

  1. At Risk (2006)
  2. The Front (2008)

Captain Chase Series

  1. Quantam (2019)
  2. Spin (2021)


  1. Ruth, A Portrait: The Story of Ruth Bell Graham (1983)
  2. Scarpetta’s Winter Table (1998)
  3. Food to Die For: Secrets From Kay Scarpetta’s Kitchen (2001)
  4. Portrait of a Killer: Jack the Ripper – Case Closed (2002)
  5. Chasing the Ripper (2014)
  6. Ripper: The Secret Life of Walter Sickert (2017)

Patricia Cornwell Books In Order By Series

Kay Scarpetta Series

Postmortem (1990)

Body of Evidence (1991)

All That Remains (1992)

Cruel and Unusual (1993)

The Body Farm (1994)

From Potter’s Field (1995)

Cause of Death (1996)

Unnatural Exposure (1997)

Point of Origin (1998)

Scarpetta’s Winter Table (1998)

Black Notice (1999)

The Last Precinct (2000)

Blow Fly (2003)

Trace (2004)

Predator (2005)

Book of the Dead (2007)

Scarpetta (2008)

The Scarpetta Factor (2009)

Port Mortuary (2010)

Red Mist (2011)

The Bone Bed (2012)

Dust (2013)

Flesh and Blood (2014)

Depraved Heart (2015)

Chaos (2016)

Autopsy (2021)

Livid (2024)

Unnatural Death(2024)

Andy Brazil Series

Hornet’s Nest(1996)

Southern Cross(1998)

Isle of Dogs(2001)

Win Garano Series

At Risk (2006)

The Front (2008)

Captain Chase Series

Quantum (2019)

Spin (2020)


Ruth, A Portrait: The Story of Ruth Bell Graham (1983)

Scarpetta’s Winter Table(1998)

Food to Die For: Secrets From Kay Scarpetta’s Kitchen (2001)

Portrait of a Killer: Jack the Ripper – Case Closed (2002)

Chasing the Ripper (2014)

Ripper: The Secret Life of Walter Sickert (2017)

About Patricia Cornwell

Patricia Cornwell is a renowned American crime writer known for her best-selling novels, particularly the series featuring medical examiner Kay Scarpetta. Born on June 9, 1956, in Miami, Florida, Cornwell’s novels are acclaimed for their focus on forensic science, which has influenced TV shows centered around police work. Her works, set mainly in Richmond, Virginia, have sold over 100 million copies worldwide.

Cornwell’s early life was marked by challenges. Her father, a leading appellate lawyer, left the family in 1961, impacting her emotionally. In 1961, her mother moved the family to Montreat, North Carolina, where they were taken in by Ruth Bell Graham, the wife of evangelist Billy Graham. It was Ruth who recognized Cornwell’s writing talent.

After graduating in 1979 with a B.A. in English, Cornwell worked as a reporter for The Charlotte Observer, receiving accolades for her investigative reporting on prostitution. She then moved to Richmond, Virginia, where she worked on a biography of Ruth Bell Graham, leading to a strained friendship.

In 1984, she began work on her first novel, introducing Dr. Kay Scarpetta, inspired by her interactions with Dr. Marcella Farinelli Fierro, a medical examiner. Her debut novel, Postmortem (1990), won numerous awards, including the Edgar Award.

Cornwell’s Scarpetta novels are characterized by detailed forensic science and complex murder investigations. Her style has evolved, shifting from past to present tense and from first-person to third-person narration in subsequent books.

In addition to the Scarpetta series, Cornwell has written the Trooper Andy Brazil/Superintendent Judy Hammer series, known for themes of scatology and sepsis.

Cornwell is notable for her involvement in the Jack the Ripper case, suggesting that British artist Walter Sickert was the infamous serial killer. Her theories have sparked controversy within the art world and among Ripperologists.

She made a cameo appearance on Criminal Minds and has been involved in legal disputes, including a libel case and a lawsuit against a financial management firm.

Cornwell is openly gay and is married to Staci Gruber, an associate professor of psychiatry at Harvard University. She is a supporter of several charitable causes, including psychiatric research and veterans’ organizations.

Despite her personal challenges, Patricia Cornwell’s contributions to crime fiction and forensic science have left an enduring legacy in the literary world.

FAQ – Patricia Cornwell Books In Order

Q: What is Patricia Cornwell’s most famous series?
A: Cornwell’s most famous series is centered around the character Dr. Kay Scarpetta, a medical examiner. The series is known for its focus on forensic science and complex murder investigations.

Q: Has Patricia Cornwell made any TV appearances?
A: Yes, Patricia Cornwell made a cameo appearance on the police procedural drama Criminal Minds in the episode “True Genius.”

Leave a Comment